La Liga de Fútbol Profesional (LaLiga)

The Liga de Fútbol Profesional (LaLiga) was founded on the 26th of July 1984. It is a sports association made up of all the public limited sports companies and football clubs in the First and Second Division that participate in official professional competitions on a national scale.

The LaLiga forms part of the Real Federación Española de Fútbol but has legal autonomy in its organisation and functioning. It is responsible for the organisation of state football leagues, always in coordination with RFEF.Currently, the Liga de Fútbol Profesional is formed by a total of 42 teams: 20 in the First Division and 22 in the Second Division.Its head office is located at: C/ Torrelaguna, 60, 28.043 Madrid.


The Primera División de España was first held in 1928-29, when FC. Barcelona became the first team to be crowned Champion. Until then, Spanish football was organised around the Championship of Spain.The first seasons were played between the first champions and runners-up of the Championship of Spain. In the 1934-35 season the number of teams was increased to 12.

The LaLiga was established in the 1984-85 season. Until then the Campeonato Nacional de Liga was organised and run by the RFEF. Since then, the Liga de Fútbol Profesional has been responsible for organising and managing national competitions, and is made up of all the football clubs which compete in them.The first Board of Directors of the LaLiga assumed charge on the 30th of December 1983, but it was not until the 26th of July 1984 when the statutes were approved and the Liga de Fútbol Profesional was officially established.


JAVIER TEBAS MEDRANO, (San José, Costa Rica; 31st of July 1962). President of the LaLiga since April 2013. In 1993 he became President of Sociedad Deportiva Huesca, a position he filled until 1998. In 2001 he became Vice President of the Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional. In 2003 he was chosen as a representative of the G-30 group, which is formed by 30 clubs from the First and Second Divisions for the joint negotiation of audiovisual rights. On the 15th of February 2013 he stood in the LaLiga elections and was named President on the 26th of April, as a sole candidate and with the vote of 32 of the eligible 42 clubs. Tebas was re-elected as LaLiga president in October 2016, having once again been the only candidate.

2004-2005 y 2005-2013: JOSÉ LUIS ASTIAZARÁN, Mexico City, Mexico; 31 October 1963). A lawyer with ties to the world of football, he was president of Real Sociedad between 2001 and 2005, the year in which he provisionally became the chief of the LaLiga until elections were held. In July 2005 a ballot was held and Astiazarán was proclaimed president with 39 of the 42 member clubs of the Liga de Fútbol Profesional giving him their vote.

2005: CARLOS DEL CAMPO, current Deputy President of the LaLiga, he was Interim President until the completion of elections in 2005.

2005: GUILLERMO CABELLO VALERO, occupied the position provisionally until elections were held in 2005. He was Second Vice President to José Luis Astiazarán and president of Terrasa FC. When his club was relegated to the Segunda División B he felt he had to leave his position as Interim President of the LaLiga.

2001-2004: PEDRO TOMÁS MARQUÉS, (Barcelona, Spain; 13th of October 1949). A lawyer and a member of the board of directors of RCD Espanyol, he was president of the LaLiga for three years. He is currently president of UEFA's Appeals Committee.

1984-2001: ANTONIO BARÓ ARMENGOL, (Tarragona, Spain; 26th of July 1931 – 11 of February 2001). President of the Reial Club Deportiu Espanyol de Barcelona between 1982 and 1989. He succeeded Vega-Arango in the position of president of the LaLiga in 1984 and remained there until he passed away in 2001.

1983-1984: MANUEL VEGA-ARANGO ALVARÉ, (Luanco, Asturias; 17th August 1938). He became president of Sporting de Gijón in 1977 keeping the position for nine years. In 2002 he returned to preside over the Club, until the 21st of June 2013. He was the first president of the Liga de Fútbol Profesional and participated in its creation.


Real Madrid 33
F.C. Barcelona 26
Atlético de Madrid 10
Athletic Club 8
Valencia 6
Real Sociedad 2
R.C. Deportivo de la Coruña 1
Sevilla 1
Real Betis 1