The Primera División de España was first held in 1928-29, when FC. Barcelona became the first team to be crowned Champion. Until then, Spanish football was organised around the Championship of Spain.The first seasons were played between the first champions and runners-up of the Championship of Spain. In the 1934-35 season the number of teams was increased to 12.

The LaLiga was established in the 1984-85 season. Until then the Campeonato Nacional de Liga was organised and run by the RFEF. Since then, the Liga de Fútbol Profesional has been responsible for organising and managing national competitions, and is made up of all the football clubs which compete in them.The first Board of Directors of the LaLiga assumed charge on the 30th of December 1983, but it was not until the 26th of July 1984 when the statutes were approved and the Liga de Fútbol Profesional was officially established.